Varun Chakravarthy ruled out of Australia T20Is due to shoulder injury

Varun Chakravarthy

One of the revelations of this IPL season, Varun Chakravarthy’s shoulder injury has put him out of contention for the tour of Australia. The mystery spinner rose to prominence with Kolkata Knight Riders and finished the season with 17 wickets, which included a sensational spell of 5 for 20 against Delhi Capitals, the best of this IPL so far. The right-arm spinner displaced Kuldeep Yadav from the KKR lineup for most of the tournament and his sensational economy rate of 6.84 did wonders for his side.

On the back of such impressive performances, Varun received his maiden call-up to the national side for the tour of Australia last month. The Indian Express revealed that the spin bowler has a labrum tear that doesn’t affect his bowling but it does influence his throwing. The report also revealed that this is an injury he’s had for a while but it got considerably worse during the IPL.

It was because of this shoulder injury that Kolkata Knight Riders made use of Varun Chakravarthy largely inside the 30-yard circle while fielding. Meanwhile, the spin bowler from Tamil Nadu has already joined up with the Indian team’s bubble and has also bowled in the net sessions. It is also believed that KKR had also informed the Indian team physio about the status of his injury after their run in the IPL came to an end.

However, this is in contrast with the fitness report that was submitted by the Indian team physio Nitin Patel ahead of the call-up in the Indian T20 squad. Later during the day, it was officially announced that Sunrisers pace sensation T Natarajan will be replacing Chakravarthy in the Indian squad.

T Natarajan had played all 16 matches for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL. He picked up 16 wickets at an average of 31.5 and his precise Yorkers and death bowling caught everyone’s attention. 

“The spinner (Varun Chakravarthy) has been ruled out of the T20I series because of a shoulder injury. The selectors have named BCCI as a replacement,” a statement from BCCI read. His inclusion means, Natarajan will be the fifth Indian pacer in the T20I squad along with Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Deepak Chahar.

If You Liked This Article Click To Share