Krunal Pandya, Prasidh Krishna make ODI debuts against England

Krunal Pandya
Chennai: Mumbai Indians' Krunal Pandya during the 1st Qualifier match of IPL 2019 between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, on May 7, 2019. (Photo: IANS)

The first ODI between India and England will be played today at the MCA Stadium in Pune. The visitors, led by Eoin Morgan won the toss and put India into the bat. The hosts are riding on high confidence after their narrow T20I series victory over England, which they won 3-2.

There were two debuts in store for the Indian team on Tuesday. Krunal Pandya and Prasidh Krishna were handed their ODI debuts in the first match of the three-match series. Krunal Pandya had an outstanding domestic season which led to his inclusion in the ODI squad. Moreover, the absence of Ravindra Jadeja due to injury made him a likely starter. Pandya scored 388 runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy at an astonishing average of 129.33. The spinner also managed to claim five wickets for Baroda.

Also Read: Smriti Mandhana: Narrow loss against South Africa is a bitter pill to swallow

Prasidh Krishna who burst into limelight after playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, finally got his much-awaited Indian debut. He picked up 14 wickets in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, at an average of just over 22. He is expected to open the bowling alongside the experienced, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

KL Rahul was picked in the team ahead of Rishabh Pant and will come in at number five. In a surprising move, Kuldeep Yadav was given the nod over Yuzvendra Chahal and will lead the spin bowling attack for the hosts. Shikhar Dhawan returns to the team, and will open the batting alongside his regular partner at the top of the order, Rohit Sharma.

Virat Kohli will occupy the number three spot, whereas, Shreyas Iyer retains his spot in the ODI team and was chosen over Suryakumar Yadav. Hardik Pandya will be expected to play the finishers role alongside his brother, Krunal Pandya.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna




If You Liked This Article Click To Share