Kane Williamson appointed skipper of SRH for remainder of IPL 2021

Kane Williamson
Hyderabad: Sunrisers Hyderabad's Kane Williamson in action during an IPL 2018 match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on May 19, 2018. (Photo: IANS)

Sunrisers Hyderabad have appointed Kane Williamson as their skipper for the rest of the IPL season. SRH, who have been one of the most consistent sides in IPL in the past few seasons, have had a miserable start to the season. They are reeling at the bottom of the table, having secured just one win from their six matches so far.

Moreover, David Warner’s has not been impressive either. The Australian has managed to score just 193 runs in his six innings so far, at an average of 32.17. However, his strike-rate has been on the lower side this season. Warner has a strike rate of just over 110 this season, and has struggled to find the middle of the bat on a consistent basis.

Also Read: “We were grooming Harpreet Brar”, says KL Rahul

“The decision has not come lightly as the management respects the enormous impact David Warner has had for the franchise over a number of years,” the club said in a statement. “As we face the remainder of the season, we are sure David will continue to help us strive for success both on and off the field.

“The team management has also made the decision that they will be changing their overseas combination for tomorrow’s (Sunday) match against Rajasthan Royals,” the statement added.

Kane Williamson was appointed as the skipper of SRH in the 2018 season, after David Warner was banned from all forms of cricket for one year. The Kiwi skipper did a fine job, and guided Sunrisers Hyderabad to the finals, where they were defeated by Chennai Super Kings. It was a successful season for Williamson with the bat, as he won the Orange Cap, after scoring over 700 runs.

The official statement from SRH also hinted at changes in the playing eleven tomorrow. Jason Holder might come back into the playing eleven, with David Warner dropping to the bench against Rajasthan Royals. This means that Jonny Bairstow and Kane Williamson will open the batting for their side, with Manish Pandey coming in at number three.


If You Liked This Article Click To Share