India squad for WTC finals and England Test tour announced


BCCI has announced the squad for the WTC final against New Zealand, and the five match Test series against England. Among the notable omissions, are Prithvi Shaw and Hardik Pandya who will not be travelling with the squad. Axar Patel has retained his spot in the squad, after picking up 27 wickets against England in just three matches, earlier this year.

T.Natarajan has also missed out on a spot, as he recently had his surgery, and was also ruled out of IPL 2021. Hanuma Vihari and Ravindra Jadeja, who missed the home series against England, have also been included in the squad.

Also Read: Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar have different personalities, says Venkatesh Prasad

KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha have also been included, but will travel only after clearing fitness tests. Rahul underwent a surgery for acute appendicitis earlier this month, whereas, Saha was one of the few players who contacted the covid-19 virus during the IPL.

Prasidh Krishna and Avesh Khan have been selected as the standby players. The latter picked up 14 wickets in his seven IPL matches this season, which has led to his selection. Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal and Shubman Gill have been selected as the openers for the tour of England.

Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Kuldeep Yadav has lost his place in the squad, after the spinner spent the entire Test series against Australian on the bench. He managed to get just one match against England, in which he failed to put up an impressive performance. The WTC Final will be held from June 18-22 in Southampton. The Indian team will then travel to Nottingham for the first Test against England on August 4.

If You Liked This Article Click To Share