Fakhar Zaman defends de Kock after controversial run-out

Fakhar Zaman

It is not often that a player from the losing side is adjudged the man of the match. However, Fakhar Zaman’s brilliant knock of 193 runs off just 155 balls in the second ODI earned him the award, despite ending on the losing side. South Africa leveled the three match ODI Series, after they defeated Pakistan by a narrow margin of 17 runs in the second ODI.

Fakhar Zaman’s knock kept the visitors in the game, but was not enough to guide them past the finishing line. However, his dismissal caused a lot of controversy on Sunday, after a direct hit from Aiden Markram ran him out. The Pakistani batsman set of for two runs, but an accurate throw from long-off, dented his hopes of scoring a double-century.

Also Read: Axar Patel tests positive for Coronavirus a week before IPL 2021

Quinton De Kock had made a gesture that the throw was going to come towards the non-striker’s end, which slowed down Fakhar Zaman. The opener stated that he was the one to be blamed for bizarre dismissal and leaves the rest up to the match referee.

“The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault,” Zaman was quoted as saying in ESPNcricinfo.

The Pakistani batsman also stated that winning the match for his team was more important than scoring a double hundred. Zaman already has one double century to his name, after he scored an unbeaten knock of 210 runs against Zimbabwe in 2018.

“I don’t regret not getting the double, I regret losing the match. If we had won this it would’ve been amazing so my regret is about that. The situation was such that I was only focusing on getting the win, not the double,” Zaman added.

 

If You Liked This Article Click To Share